Claiming One


“If you are willing to risk reading, it will challenge you, capture your attention, and dare you to continue till the very last.”

Fall into Claiming One, this collection of 17 short stories all linked by flight or denial, and witness how perfectly flawed humanity can be.

208 pages (48,000 words)

Read the first chapter for FREE

We Ship Worldwide (see Delivery Information)

You run or you fight. Pick either one, but do something.

The distinct characters in Claiming One are both incredibly loving and tragically flawed: far from finding what they seek, and an even longer way from peace.

Often, we arrive to their story on the heels of a major change, whether actual or symbolic, and each story offers a glimpse into the characters’ moment of choice. We witness perilous options, discoveries and decisions, all while considering the flawless humanity presented to us.

This powerful collection brings together 17 short stories linked together by flight or denial. Author E.J. Runyon masterfully intertwines a lop-sided trail of hope, found in the hearts of the characters, to thread these tales together.


E.J. Runyon lives in the US Southwest. Since 2002 she’s found herself moving on to smaller and smaller desert towns, while working to become the author and writing coach she planned to be.

E.J.’s passion is focused on writing fine prose and on getting folks writing, her aim is coaching them in writing well. She participates yearly in National Novel Writing Month – an event she’s been involved in since 2001. Several of the short stories in Claiming One are excerpts from her many in-progress and published novels, written during various NaNoWriMo years.

You can learn more about E.J. Runyon by visiting her author page here on the IQ website.

Product Details

If you are a retailer and wish to stock this title, please get in touch with us for our discount rates and return terms.

Full Sell Sheet: Download PDF Here
E.J. Runyon
Category: Short Stories / Literary
Release Date: January 2012

Format: Paperback
ISBN: 978-1-908600-06-6
Pages: 208
RRP: £9.99 / 12.99€ / $14.99

Format: eBook (MOBI & ePUB)
ISBN: 978-1-908600-07-3
RRP: £3.49 / 3.99€ / $3.99


Interested in reviewing this book (or one of our others?) check out our Book Reviewers Page!

Runyon tells her stories with an unashamed truthfulness. The work is edgy, but never gratuitously so, never for the sake of edginess. At the same time, there exists a compelling emotional accessibility. If you are willing to risk reading, it will challenge you, capture your attention, and dare you to continue till the very last.

Catherine Ryan Hyde, author of Pay it Forward

With this first collection, Runyon is following in the tradition of the great regional American writers. Flannery O’Connor, John Fante, Bret Harte, and Sinclair Lewis. The triumph of their stories was due in part to the writers’ craftsmanship and vision, but also to the honesty of the narrative which grounded the fictive worlds deeply in reality.

– Adam Burgess, owner of Roof Beam Reader

You may also like…

Get 25% off ALL eBooks

Sign up to receive updates on releases, competitions, blogs and events. Oh, and a cool 25% off coupon for ALL of our eBooks for the rest of this year! (Unsubscribe at any time.)

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Skip to content